Car Seat Safety Resources
Did you know…
85% of child safety seats are used incorrectly?
Most children ages 4 to 8 need to be in a booster seat?
That one size does NOT fit all?
Oregon Child Safety Seat Resource Center: 1-800-772-1315
For the latest Oregon laws, tips, clinic listings ad downloadable
Hood River County WIC Office:
for classes 541-387-6882
Joella Dethman: Hood River County Commission on
Children and Families, 541-386-2500
(Car seat safety classes are offered monthly in Hood River and
The Dalles. Child safety seats are available at a reduced cost to
WIC (Women, Infants and Children) income eligible families with
successful completion of class. Registration required at the Hood
River WIC office 541-387-6882 or The Dalles WIC office 541-506-2610.
(Classes are open to the public free of charge but low cost seats
are only available to income eligible Hood River and Wasco County
- Every person riding in a car or truck needs his or her own seat
belt. Do not let passengers ride in storage areas or on other
- Children always ride restrained with a car seat or seat belt
and in the back seat.
- Infants should ride in a rear-facing car seats until at least
20 lbs. and at least 1 year old. Do not put a rear-facing car
seat in the front seat of a vehicle with an active passenger air
- Children over 1 year old and between 20 pounds and 40 lbs. should
ride in forward-facing car seats.
- Children ages 4 to 8 between 40 and 80 lbs. should ride in booster
seats restrained with lap and shoulder belts. A regular seat belt
won’t fully protect a child this size in a crash.
- Children and adults over 80 pounds should use a seat belt for
Tips provided by the Car Seat Safety Education Program (a joint
effort of several local agencies)
For more information contact Joella Dethman at the Hood River County
Commission on Children and Families, 541-386-2500
Oregon Laws Regarding Child Passengers (1/15/07)
A child who is under four years of age and weighs 40 pounds or less
must be properly secured with a child safety system designed for
children weighing 40 pounds or less.
A child who is at least four years of age and under six years of
age or weighs between 40 and 60 pounds must be properly secured
with a child safety system that elevates the person so that a safety
belt or safety harness properly fits the person. "Proper fit"
means the lap belt of the safety belt or safety harness is positioned
low across the thighs and the shoulder belt is positioned over the
collarbone and away from the neck. The child safety system must
be designed for children weighing between 40 and 60 pounds.
A child who is at least six years of age and weighs 60 pounds or
more must be properly secured with a safety belt or safety harness.
Effective January 1, 2004 Senate Bill 182 exempts a child from
the booster seat requirement when the rear seat of the vehicle he
or she is riding in is equipped only with lap belts, provided the
child is secured by the lap belt.
The offense described in this section, failure to properly use
safety belts or child restraints, is a Class D traffic violation
resulting in a $97.00 fine.
Pick Up Truck Restrictions
Effective November 2003, House Bill 2338 amended ORS 811.205 to
prohibit children under 18 years of age from riding in the open
bed of a pick up truck. This offense is a Class B traffic violation
resulting in a $242.00 fine.